Campodipietra - Immigration to Canada

The first Campopietrese immigrated in Montreal in 1890, the beloved Dominico Lombardi (according to the old sayings).

In 1905 three young people aged between 15 and 16 : Giovanni Francalangia, Vincenzo Cefaratti and Giuseppe Mancini (Peppucce Cosavecchia) arrived in Canada after fleeing the injustices of the duca Japoce, aboard a ship on which they had embarked illegally.

The mass of the campopietrese who immigrated to Montreal arrived between the 1950 and 1960. Among the mass of immigrants there were and there still are founders of the Associazione Culturale di Campodipietra a Montreal, who intends to convey to young people's pride and honor of its origins.

About our origins, we seek to discover those names of family campopietresi that are here now, and are part of our daily lives.

Here are some according to the historian Francesco Rossi:
In 1522 Ioanne Petrecchia, Biase di Cristofano, Ioanne Del Conti, Ioanne de Pilla, Pascale De Maio, Jacopo de Cicco, Angelo of Mariano Ansaleo, Cero of Rugiero, Angelo de Benedicto, Stefano Mangino, Donato Colasanti, Vito Pascivento, Cola Maczarano, Antuono Pasciventre, Donato Mariano de Cola Rosa, Ioanne de Martino, Antuono Colasanti alias Pilla, Guglielmo Santarello, Alessandro detto Fauziello, Angelo di Domenico detto GrossoDominico detto Ciarlozzo, Pietro Scricca, Antuono Ciarufo, Antuono of Mastro Martino.

Over the years there are family names which have changed and others where added.

In 1658: Porzia Cesarotto vedova Angeloni, Criscento di Criscento, Antonio Avirro, Domenico Ricciardo, Giuseppe di Micco, Carulo Barile, Maruccia Antonaccio, F rancesca vedova di Gio di Luca, Iacono di Maio, Mariano Bruno, Jacopo Palmiero, Angelo D'Agata, Noè Pavento, Angela Rossi, Domenico Carlone, Bernardino Carriero, Francesco Lamenta, Angela di Santo, Ioanne D'Agata alias Ritone, Carlo di Cocco, Giambattista Perrotta, Ippolita Chiovitto, Nardo Mancini, Don Cosmo Rossi, Rosa della Petrella, Donato of Attellis married to Domenica Ianitri and his brother Marco married to Laura Lamenta.

Secular and ancient surnames of popular campopietrese families still continue to preserve and honor among old and new generations these surnames even overseas.


IMMIGRANT PROFILES
OF CAMPOPIETRESE

Domenico Di Maio

Born in Campodipietra on July 26th 1922, now Domenico Di Maio, is the oldest Campopietrese living in Montrreal. Our current "grandfather" is better known by the name of Annuccio; and this is due to the fact that July 26th is the feast of St. Anne, patron saint of the nearby town of Ielsi and whose devotion is well felt throughout Molise and even here in Montreal is one of the patronal feasts that draws the attention of every ethnic group of the Canadian metropolis.
Son of Gaetana Mariano and Michele Di Maio, in 1948 he was married in the mother church of San Martino in Campodipietra, with Filomena Carriero, daughter of Giovanni and Angela Antonia D'Attellis, also born in Campodipietra on the 28th of August 1924. Their union was acclaimed by the birth of two boys: Michele on May 20th, 1949 and Giovanni on May 12th, 1953. To this day they both reside in Montreal where Michele lives with Monica Pauline Fitzsimons and Giovanni is married to Noree Lauzier who have enriched Domenico and Mena's family with two wonderful grandchildren: Laura in 1987 and Alexandra in 1991.
Going back to Domenico's life, in 1941 he was drafted in the army and, although he was not sent to the front, he was stationed in Sardinia where he remained until the signing of the armistice. In the specifics of his being an emigrant, his first migratory experience was in Venezuela and precisely in Maracaibo where he worked modestly, not having the possibility of enjoying jobs more suited to his qualities as a craftsman. In 1960 he crossed the American skies and came to Canada where his brothers Peppino and Michele resided. First in Toronto and then in Windsor he once again adapted to manual work in various companies, such as Chrysler...where unfortunately, the pay was quite low. And so he turned his eyes to Montreal where he moved permanently and where in the 60s and 70s he worked in the painting department in the factory of a fellow Campopietrese: the late Michele Lombardi. In the 80s, always with the same job as a painter, he lent his talents in the furniture factory Patella. His wife Filomena worked both as a seamstress in the needle trade and as a housewife. In 1998, unfortunately, she suffered a stroke and after 4 years, on September 22nd 2002, she left us forever. She arrived in Montreal with her two children on November 12, 1961 aboard the mythical Saturnia.
As a good Campopietrese, Annuccio continues to be a faithful devotee of our patron saint; as everyone knows, in fact, he was one of the pillars of the Pilgrimage Association to St. Michael the Archangel. He currently lives in his home in Rivière des Prairies; he is completely autonomous and, at the envied age of 97, he can still drive and move on his own and in complete lucidity of mind: and so best wishes to you for many more years, grandfather Domenico, alias Annuccio!

All rights reserved 2021  - Associazione Culturale Di Campodipietra A Montreal Canada
Website design by MLSC

Campodipietra - Immigration au Canada

Le premier Campopietrese a immigré à Montréal en 1890, fut Dominico Lombardi (selon les ouï-dire).

En 1905 trois jeunes agés entre 15 où 16 ans: Giovanni Francalangia, Vincenzo Cefaratti e Giuseppe Mancini (Peppucce Cosavecchia). après s’être enfuis au injustices du duca Japoce. Ils mirent pieds au Canada, et arrivèrent à bord d’un navire sur lequel ils s’étaient embarqués clandestinement.

À propos d’origines, cherchons de découvrir celles des noms de famille campopietresi qui même ici font partie désormais, de notre vie quotidienne.

Selon l’historien Francesco Rossi selon l’anagrafe de l’année 1522:
Francesco Rossi, Ioanne Petrecchia, Biase di Cristofano, Ioanne Del Conti, Ioanne de Pilla, Pascale De Maio, Jacopo de Cicco, Angelo de Mariano Ansaleo, Cero de Rugiero, Angelo de Benedicto, Stefano Mangino, Donato Colasanti, Vito Pascivento, Cola Maczarano, Antuono Pasciventre, Donato Mariano de Cola Rosa, Ioanne de Martino, Antuono Colasanti alias Pilla, Guglielmo Santarello, Alessandro detto Fauziello, Angelo di Domenico detto Grosso, Dominico detto Ciarlozzo, Pietro Scricca, Antuono Ciarufo, Antuono de Mastro Martino.

Avec les années il y a des noms de famille qui se sont transformés et d’autres qui se sont rajoutés.

En 1658: Porzia Cesarotto vedova Angeloni, Criscento di Criscento, Antonio d’Avirro, Domenico Ricciardo, Giuseppe di Micco, Carulo Barile, Maruccia Antonaccio, Francesca vedova di Gio di Luca, Iacono di Maio, Mariano Bruno, Iacopo Palmiero, Angelo d’Agata, Noè Pavento, Angela Rossi, Domenico Carlone, Angela Carlozzo, Paulo Cefaratti, Bernardino Carriero, Francesco Lamenta, Angela di Santo, Ioanne d’Agata alias Ritone, Carlo di Cocco, Giambattista Perrotta, Ippolita Chiovitto, Nardo Mancini, Don Cosmo Rossi, Rosa della Petrella, Donato d’Attellis marié à Domenica Ianitri et son frère Marco marié à Laura Lamenta.

Noms séculaires, et les noms de famille campopietrese bien populaires sont encore conservés et honorés ici outre-mer par toutes les vieilles et jeunes générations de ces familles.

PROFILS DES IMMIGRANTS
CAMPOPIETRESE

Domenico Di Maio

Né à Campodipietra le 26 juillet 1922, Domenico Di Maio est aujourd'hui, le doyen des Campopietresi vivant à Montréal. Notre "grand-père" actuel est mieux connu sous le nom d'Annuccio ; et cela est dû au fait que le 26 juillet est la fête de Sainte Anne, patronne de la ville voisine de Ielsi et dont la dévotion est bien ressentie dans tout le Molise et même ici à Montréal et est l'une des fêtes patronales qui attire l'attention de tous les groupes ethniques dans la métropole canadienne.
Fils de Gaetana Mariano et de Michele Di Maio, il se marie en 1948 dans l'église mère de San Martino à Campodipietra, avec Filomena Carriero, fille de Giovanni et Angela Antonia D'Attellis, également née à Campodipietra le 28 août 1924. Leur union a été acclamée par la naissance de deux garçons : Michele le 20 mai 1949 et Giovanni le 12 mai 1953. Ils résident tous deux à Montréal où Michele vit avec Monica Pauline Fitzsimons et Giovanni est marié à Noree Lauzier qui ont enrichi la famille de Domenico et Mena de deux merveilleux petits-enfants : Laura en 1987 et Alexandra en 1991.
Pour en revenir à la vie de Domenico, en 1941 il est appelé à l'armée et, bien qu'il ne soit pas envoyé au front, il est stationné en Sardaigne où il reste jusqu'à la signature de l'armistice. Dans les détails de son émigration, sa première expérience migratoire a eu lieu au Venezuela et précisément à Maracaibo où il a mené ses activités quotidiennes, n'ayant pas la possibilité de travailler dans des emplois plus adaptés à ses qualités d'artisan. En 1960, il a traversé le ciel américain et est venu au Canada où ses frères Peppino et Michele résidaient. D'abord à Toronto, puis à Windsor, il s'est à nouveau adapté au travail manuel dans diverses entreprises, comme par exemple chez Chrysler... où le salaire était malheureusement assez bas. Il s'est donc tourné vers Montréal où il s'est installé définitivement et où, dans les années 60 et 70, a travaillé au département de peinture de l'usine d'un Campopietrese : le feu Michele Lombardi. Dans les années 80, toujours avec le même métier de peintre, il prête sa main d'œuvre à la fabrique de meubles Patella. Sa femme Filomena a travaillé à la fois comme couturière et comme femme au foyer. En 1998, malheureusement, elle a subi un accident vasculaire cérébral et après 4 ans, le 22 septembre 2002, elle nous a quittés pour toujours. Elle est arrivée à Montréal avec ses deux enfants le 12 novembre 1961 à bord du mythique Saturnia.
En bon Campopietrese, Annuccio continue d'être un fidèle dévot de notre saint patron ; comme chacun sait, en fait, il a été, dans le temps, l'un des piliers de l'Association des pèlerins de Saint Michel Archange. Il vit actuellement dans sa maison à Rivière des Prairies, est complètement autonome et, à l'âge envié de 97 ans, il peut encore conduire et se déplacer seul et en toute lucidité d'esprit : et donc, meilleurs vœux pour de nombreuses années encore, grand-père Domenico, alias Annuccio !

Tous droits reservée 2020  - Associazione Culturale Di Campodipietra A Montreal Canada
Conception du site par MLSC