Campodipietra - Historical Notes

Campodipietra is located about 9 km from Campobasso, a small village in Molise, 500 m below sea level. Its founding date is unknown, but it is certainly prior to the year 1000. Its name comes from the latin "campus" (a small centre) was also nicknamed "of petra" because of the Contrata Marchisi , where was found a burial stone with engravings of a man and a woman, thus was added...(of stone). In a world of changes and transformations it is easy to imagine how Campus-petra is now named Campodipietra!

Something of its past, it is easy to do the interpretation of his coat of arms. There are two dungeons of Castle and three stars in a Blue Shield surmounted by a Crown and a branch of oak and Laurel on the coasts. It was one of the small village of the region in the Apennine mountains controlled to the whims and wishes of "signorotti" who owned these lands during the medieval ages and even after.

To keep a good memory of Claudia Carafa for having treated his peasants with great leniency, the "mulino della duchessa" was a good testimony in her honnor. The last Duke of Campodipietra was duca Japoce, in late 1800 early 1900.

Like many other Italy village, our village was mainly farmland and beautiful countryside, but it also had lot charm, history and royalty.

The old city of Campodipietra was accesable through 4 gateways:
Porta delli Giulii (Fosso a Monte), Porta della terra, Porta del ponte and Porta di Santa Maria (Fosso a Basso).




All rights reserved 2021  - Associazione Culturale Di Campodipietra A Montreal Canada
Website design by MLSC

Campodipietra - notes historiques

Campodipietra est située à environ 9 km de Campobasso, un petit village du Molise à 500 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. On ne connaît pas sa date de fondation, mais elle est certainement antérieure à l’année 1000. Son nom provient du latin «campus» (un petit centre habité) elle fut aussi surnommée «de petra» parce que dans la Contré de Marchisi on avait trouvé une pierre sépulcrale avec les gravures d’un homme et d’une femme de grandeur nature, ainsi on ajouta ..(de pierre). Dans un monde ou tout change et se transforme il est facile de s’imaginer comment Campus-de-petra soit maintenant nommé Campodipietra!

Quelque chose de son passé, il est facile de faire l’interprétation de ses armoiries; Il y a un donjon de château et trois étoiles dans un écu bleu surmonté d’une couronne et un rameau de chêne et de laurier sur les côtés. C’est un des petits villages de la région dans les Apennins toujours asservi aux caprices et aux volontés des «signorotti» qui possédaient ces terres pendant le Moyen Age et même après.

De toute façon on garde une bonne mémoire de Claudia Carafa pour avoir traité ses paysans avec beaucoup de clémence. Le «mulino della duchessa» est un bon témoignage de ce qu’on vient de dire. Le dernier Duc de Campodipietra a été le duca Japoce, fin 1800 début 1900.

Comme beaucoup d’autres village en Italie, notre village avait beaucoup de terres agricoles et de beaux prés, mais il avait aussi beaucoup d’histoire, de gloire et de royauté.

On pouvait accéder dans l'ancien village de Campodipietra par quatre portes: Porta delli Giulii (Fosso a Monte), Porta della terra, Porta del ponte et Porta di Santa Maria (Fosso a Basso).




Tous droits reservée 2020  - Associazione Culturale Di Campodipietra A Montreal Canada
Conception du site par MLSC